I say it every year, but I’m always so relieved when a new year swings by. Towards the last few weeks of December I was a bit of a blubbering wreck. Well it’s already week two of  2010 and I’m pleased to say that I’m still bright eyed and bushy tailed!

I really owe this renewed and uplifted state of mind to my great German pal -Nina – who kindly invited me to her homeland for New Year.

I met Nina back in 2007 at the Sorbonne in Paris. We were both naughty Erasmus students and we bonded in a literature class when none of the sniffy Parisians would talk to us.

Now neither Nina nor I are what you’d call ‘bilangue’ – but nonetheless, we insist on communicating with each other in our pidgin French. God only knows what a French person would think when they hear our thick accents destroying their beautiful language. But, c’est pas grave, cos it works for us.

During my dreamy year in Paris, Nina and I spent most of our time drinking champagne on the Champs Elysees, picnicking along the Seine and attempting, but not really succeeding to master the art of Brazilian dance with our weekly samba lessons.

Since we’ve returned to our native countries, Nina and I have remained bosom buddies. So when Nina phoned me up and invited me to Leipzig for five days of New Year celebrations, I simply could not turn down the chance for some hearty German fun.

I don’t think I’ve ever had such a quirky, amusing or foreign New Year. I’m not quite sure what happened whilst I was out there, but I’ve returned to London a renewed person and a serious lover of all things Deutsch.

